This week, my digital humanities class looked at a handful of other electronic literature pieces. My favorites were Evidence of Everything Exploding and Pry. Evidence of Everything Exploding(EOEE) was certainly strange but it was interactive. It is created around the notion that the entertainment industry is built around conspiracies and the end of days. When you start the game, it can be sort of an eyesore. Text, scribbles, floating enemy images, and random explosions are included in each level. Your character is just a bright arrow symbol that you must guide through 10 mazes to reach the “end”. Honestly, I have no idea what this game is about. After completing each level the creator of the game talks about different matchbooks and links together some sort of story with them. Trust me, it is very confusing but also really interesting. I played the whole way through twice because I wanted to see if there were any hidden messages I was missing.

Screen Shot 2015-02-03 at 9.01.17 PM
Screenshot from Jason Nelson’s “Evidence of Everything Exploding”

To my surprise, no, I wasn’t missing anything. However, I do recommend my readers/followers to play through this, especially if you’re bored and want to mess around with a fairly easy game.

Pry was my favorite piece this week. Although I have not bought it yet, I do plan on buying it soon. On the iTunes app store it is only $2.99! To summarize, this is a “book” that also has elements of cinema, gaming, and text. You can touch, expand, crunch, unfold, tear, and reveal parts of the pages. This interactive story is about a demolition expert who loses his sight and using the app you can unravel the fabric of his memory and discover his story. Since I really like interactive pieces of electronic literature, this has really caught my attention.

Screen Shot 2015-02-03 at 9.12.19 PM

This is where I expect literature to go in the future – all books will eventually copy the interactiveness of Pry and become works of electronic literature. Print books will be a thing of the past, too boring and flat to keep up with literature such as this. I am very excited to see if other books will also be created in this style soon.

